Clear all

Help with techniques??

13 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@akflyingv)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

So I've been playing guitar for a little over 2 years now and I'm just not feeling like I used to. I wanna try and add a few new techniques to my playing and was wondering if you guys can help me get started. I'm mainly into blues music, british blues, and folk style rock like Dylan and Young. There are three:

1. The first is fingerpicking, I'm sure a lot of people have no problem doing this but I just can't seem to figure it out. I don't know if there are patterns that are necessary to know or what.
2. The second is playing slide, everytime i've tried to play slide it has come out sounding horrible. I've only ever tried to play slide in standard tuning and have never messed around with others in fear of breaking a string. I've also never knew which Open tuning to choose from because there seems to be so many.
3. The third isn't necessarily a technique but a style of music. I'm really into blues and would love to get into some of that Robert Johnson style country blues.

I don't know if any of you can recommend a good place to start with these or maybe a book or something. I really want to expand a little bit so I don't feel so limited. Thanks for taking the time to read and Thank you in advance for any responses.

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,

There are heaps of variation on 'fingerpicking', but here's a couple that I know: