Skip to content
Here's another one ...

Notifications
Clear all

Here's another one for you all !....an easy song to learn..

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@slodogg)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

what would be an easy song i could learn to play by ear? What recommendations would any of you have?

Anything maybe by U2 ? on that order.

Here's what i have on CD.

U2
Grateful Dead
Metallica
Joe Walsh
REM
Black Sabbath
Ozzy Osborne
Lynyrd Skynyrd
Korn

any suggestions from that list? or any other.

SLODOGG62

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,

There's a whole forum section here full of "Easy Songs" and it includes an index. So have a look through and see if you can find anything that would suit you.

Just be aware though that if you're a complete beginner that there isn't really such a thing as a totally "Easy Song", unless it's a simple nursery rhyme or something like that.

There are of course some songs that are easier than others, and you can learn a simpler version of some songs too. Reasons why songs aren't actually as 'easy' as more experienced players sometimes say include:

• Chord changes. As beginners, we can do a few chords but often can't change quickly or accurately enough yet.

Strumming/picking hand. At the start you don't usually have much idea about rhythm, picking/strumming patterns or all the many things that go towards turning a series of notes into "music" with feeling and style.

Sound. A lone beginner won't be able to recreate the sound made by a four or five piece band, several grands worth of gear and a professional mixer and producer.

The 'tune'. The 'song' we remember is often the melody line which was carried by the singer, not by the rhythm guitar, or whatever part we're attempting. So our efforts may not bring the song to life in the way that we recall it.