Notifications
Clear all

Hey i'm new

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@dc-20o1)
Topic starter  

My brother just gave me his guitar so I decided to start playing four days ago. I've been reading all the lessons and i think they're great! But i also bought a beginners guitar book, now heres my question: Should i start learning individual strings first or chords? I played the piano for five years and the saxophone for four, so i can read music and stuff.

Thanks for the help

-Dan

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the asylum for the musically insane.

I'd suggest starting with Absolute Beginner Chords.

And here's GuitarNoise's fretboard map:

Enjoy your guitar!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

Learn both do notes one day chords the next. 8) 8)

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@mikeg516)

Fret board map? That's the first one I've seen like that. What should we do with it?

ReplyQuote
(@dc-20o1)
Topic starter  

Thanks 8)

-Dan

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Fret board map? That's the first one I've seen like that. What should we do with it?

Just get familiar with it. You'll be glad to know the names of the notes someday (if you don't already). Especially when you start working with barre chords and power chords.

And besides, it looks cool. 8)

And welcome to the asylum!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

Welcome to guitarnoise, MikeG516 and DC 20o1! Are your fingers hurting yet??? :wink:

FEEL THE BURN!!!!! :roll:

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@dcarroll)
Reputable Member

welcome to the board,

since you can read music already, learn the notes on the neck asap. You'll have a big head start. Have fun!