Clear all

Hitting a glass ceiling

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@muskogee)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,

New to the boards hoping I can find some advice.

I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now but I've been stuck in such a rut for so long I may as well be a beginner.
I never had a formal lesson and all I have learned is from the internet alone. My biggest problem is that I just can't seem to get any better than I am now. This was really brought to my attention the other day trying an exercise. I realized that I can't for the life of me move my ring finger side to side. What I tried to do was put fingers 1 2 and 4 on frets 9 10 and 13 on the high e string, and tried to move my ring finger between 11 and 12. After about 20 minutes of just sitting there staring at it trying to will it to move I got frustrated. My middle finger is better but still doesnt have great sideways moving capability.

Has anyone had this problem and does anyone know of any exercises that specifically help with side to side movement of these fingers, while keeping the other fingers stationary. That's really my main problem, I don't really know what to practice or what kind of exercises to do, The ones I do dont seem to advance me at all.

Thanks in advance for any advice,
J.

(@Anonymous)

Check out THIS THREAD it may help with your "finger problem".