Holding a pick, strumming & picking single strings

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hello)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

I've been playing guitar for a few months now and I can play the 15 basic chords and a few barre chords reasonable well. I never really paid attention to my right hand technique but only focused on forming the chord with my left hand and strum away.

I now want to concentrate on my technique for picking individual strings and the first problem i came across is how to hold the pick.

when strumming i hold the pick like this:

But when picking strings i like to hold more towards my fingertips, like this:

I don't like the first method for picking strings because it lacks control. And i don't like the second method for strumming because it lacks grip so the pick tends to slide....
Now, if i have to change form picking strings to strumming i try to move the pick in my fingers to my favourite position, but i i costs quite a lot of speed...

Help would be very much appreciated, should i go with the first method, the second or just practice shifting the pick around with my fingers?

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

You've just managed to identify the reason I gave up using plectrums (or is that plectra?)...it's hard enough working out strum patterns/rhythms and picking patterns without messing about changing pick positions....

But, whatever feels best for you, stick to it....perhaps if you incorporate changing pick positions into your practise routine, in time you'll develop some sort of smooth transtion at speed....

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member