Skip to content
Hoping for help res...

Notifications
Clear all

Hoping for help resolving my G chord difficulties...

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@robbieboy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi folks,

As a relative beginner I have a repertoire of about a dozen chords, one of which (surprise, surprise) is G- the stock standard finger one on A string (second fret), finger two on (top) E (third fret) and finger three on (bottom) E (third fret). I know the chord and I know it instantly. But I am frustrated by the way I move to and from it and keep wondering why this is when I practised it plenty of times when I started (and no-one else seems to have the problem!)

To give you an example of what gives me difficulty, take the example of "Everybody Hurts" by REM which involves a simple arpeggio and a transition at the beginning from D to G. The strings played in the arpeggio are (for the D): D/ (bass note) G/B/E/B/G, DGBEBG (again), and then on to the G chord where the strings played are: (top) E (bass note) then G/B/E/B/G, then E/G/B/E/B/G again (sorry to tell everyone what they already know but it just helps me to accurately describe my problem!)

My problem lies in making a smooth transition at the end of the 'D' arpeggio to the 'G' arpeggio- specifically, the first note of the 'G' arpeggio where you reach for the third fret (top) E with the second finger- I just cannot seem to make this a seamless transition, without a slight pause. I think my problem is I don't know what my first move should be in changing from D to G: bearing in mind what people have said to me about minimising movement, my initial move tends to be to slide my third finger (B string third fret) down to (bottom) E third fret, THEN reach for A string (second fret ) with my first finger and (top) E (third fret) with my second.