Notifications
Clear all

How do I play this...?

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@krusuphy)
Topic starter  

So, Everytime I learn a guitar song, I end up getting stuck at one point because I don't know how to play something... and i give up.
And it's always this:

-----9-----
-----------
-----7-----

Now, let it be known it's not always 9 and 7.
However, there's a string right in the middle of the two that I'm obviously not supposed to hit.
This is from 'dying in your arms' by Trivium, a song I recently started learning.
And this has me stuck. Not really a big deal, but I don't want to learn the song if I can't do it right.

I don't know if I'm supposed to play it like
-----9-----
-----x-----
-----7-----
Or if somehow I'm supposed to magically swoop over the string and not hit it.
It's not finger picking, or I'd understand it...
Help?

(@davidhodge)

We get this question a lot here (although this is the first time for this particular song, I think), but it's still good to go over it when it pops up again.

First, it's not always obvious that you're not supposed to hit the string in the middle. Many guitarists would indeed play it like this:

-----9-----
-----x-----
-----7-----

because it's the easiest way to play it. Also, whoever's doing the transcription may not have heard the string muting when writing out the tablature. Not everyone does.

Usually something like this:

-----9-----
-----------
-----7-----

is played with the fingers. But it's also good to point out here that some guitarists also use a technique that's usually called hybrid picking. You'd play the low note with your pick (held with just the thumb and index finger) and play the high note with a finger, usually the middle or ring. It's not an easy technique for many people - some just don't feel comfortable with it - but a lot of guitarists do use it. Interestingly enough, it's a staple of lead guitar in country music and some terrific players employ it.