Notifications
Clear all

How many teachers?

67 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@ricola)
Estimable Member

I don't agree with you that skills are easy. Skills are difficult. Lots of people think they can sing, because everybody has the skill to sing.

That is until they actually start singing. :shock:

There is a lot more to singing than just opening your mouth.

And guitar is more than skill anyway. It is also knowledge. It will only benefit you to learn to read music and understand theory. A teacher is invaluable for that. How can you teach yourself something you do not know?

I will have to agree with Wes and Dagwood, there is more to guitar playing than learning the "skill". It takes more than just practising a skill. Yes eventually you'll get somewhat good at it maybe even very good, but you'd never be as good as those who have a natural talent/ability and an ear for music.

I'm certainly not trying to dog you or anyone else.

For example, I'm an art school grad. Back in school their were those who put a lot of time and effort into learning how to design and no matter how hard they worked/practiced at it, they just were not getting it. Anybody can hold a paintbrush and put color on a canvas but that doesn't make them an artist.

How's this relate to guitar? Eric Clapton is gifted, Jimi Hendrix is gifted, Johhny Cash is gifted. These guys are way more than just skill...

Okay, I'll get off my soapbox...

Psa. 42:8
By day the LORD commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

The problem is, for every player you say is 'gifted' there will be someone that disagrees with you. Also, some of these 'gifted' people were practice freaks.

I personally, have never been impressed by Clapton or Hendrix. I've never thought they were gifted and nothing anyone says will really change that. Likewise, I think Kurt Cobain was gifted, but a lot of people would disagree.