Notifications
Clear all

I have quite a few questions that I hope someone can help me

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@sinistershadows)
Topic starter  

I am a complete beginner at playing the guitar.

I am using my Dad's old classic acoustic guitar. I am having trouble playing more than one cord. It's like, they never add up. I know what the cords are, but when I try to play more than one, it doesn't sound right. Like, I'm not playing it fast enough or something. What can I do to make it better?

I can play a few songs using a high E and sometimes a B, but am not good at playing the other cords. Is that bad to play a song only using one note?

I'm having trouble holding the neck of the guitar. It really hurts my fingers, and I have trouble getting my whole hand on it. What can I do to make it easier? I have watched quite a few youtube videos of people playing guitars to see how they hold it, but it still isn't working for me.

When I'm trying to play a song, it doesn't make the right sound. like, the strings vibrate. However, if I hold down the strings on the neck, it makes every note sound flat.

When holding the guitar, I am having trouble seeing the strings, but if I slant the guitar, my fingers want to go on E and B. How can I see the strings?

I sincerely apologize for the many questions. I hope that you were able to understand what I was trying to say. I am learning completely on my own. No books or anything, so I obviously have many questions, and am not good at expressing what I'm trying to say. I have asked these questions of other sites, but no one ever answers. Thank you for reading.

(@alangreen)

I am using my Dad's old classic acoustic guitar. I am having trouble playing more than one cord. It's like, they never add up. I know what the cords are, but when I try to play more than one, it doesn't sound right. Like, I'm not playing it fast enough or something. What can I do to make it better?

You ARE properly in tune, aren't you?