Skip to content
I have two guitars ...

Notifications
Clear all

I have two guitars should I Learn on the good one?

22 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

Save the Esteban for camping trips. Good guitars shouldn't be exposed to the elements. Use the Carvin for everything else.

--
Helgi Briem
hbriem AT gmail DOT com

ReplyQuote
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

I had two guitars, one better than the other whilst I was learning. The worse one had a higher action and a much wider neck. I used to learn on the good one mostly, but I'd use the other *often*. About 80%-20% split or so. That way I was learning the actions without undue restriction, then once it was learned I was building up finger strength and getting used to not relying on one guitar to be able to play. It's served me well, I think, but I'm no expert :)

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

My first acoustic was very hard to play. I used my electric mostly. Funny, now that I have 30 years experience, I can make a guitar like that play a lot better, but I don't need to. :? It had issues with both high action and a nut that was not cut deep enough. Would have made a nice slide guitar. :wink:

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@arghnoa)

just play the one you like the most, the one who gives you that special feeling when you're holding it. that's your answer.
and if there's no feeling, you should practice a lot, if it doesn't come.. just buy yourself another one :)

ReplyQuote
(@scott58)
Trusted Member