Clear all

Jamming?

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@preacher)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

My brother and a few of his friends have invited me along for a jam session for their band. I suppose Im nervous, because the guitarists in the group are Yngwei deciples, and I really havent played the neo-classical style in the longest time (Ive been studying the blues for the past 2 years), and Im doubting myself to play with the speed necessary for the style. Ive told him (my brother) this, but he says that I play fine, and could keep up with them all, but again, Im really not believing him. I saw them playing a while back, and the lead guitarist was just shredding Arpeggio's From Hell. Is there any way I could re-learn a playing style that I havent used for 2 years?

I play the guitar, I taught myself how to play the guitar, which was a bad decision... because I didn't know how to play it, so I was a sh***y teacher. I would never have went to me. -Mitch Hedberg

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

when I jam, I wanna be the person who's NOT doing what everyone else is or can do. hopefully, I can make a unique and memorable contribution that makes the jam better.

so everyone is ripping it up and playing fast? counterpoint that with cool intervals, comping, slower versions of the melody (if you find one), a good rhythmic element (not rhythm guitar, rhythmic playing). show 'em a great phrase and superlative phrasing should be comprised of more than 64th notes. and for some deity's sake, do it with confidence!

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Agreed.

Jamming is about cooperation - making the music better by having each player contribute according to his or her strengths. This sounds more like a competition. Some might find that fun, but it's certainly not about the music. Play according to who you are, not who you were or who everyone else is.

And try to have fun!

Peace

ReplyQuote
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member