Clear all

Knee Problem?

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@phillyblues)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Odd question, but just wondering if anyone else has had this problem before. I took up playing about a year ago and earlier this year I purchased and began playing an electric. 95% of my practice time is spent sitting down and lately I've found that the days after I put in a particularly long session my right knee (the one that I typically rest the guitar on) stiffens up something awful. It can be quite painful at times and, while I'm no doctor, I'm guessing it has something to do with the weight of the guitar cutting off the circulation in my leg for an extended period of time.

Anyone else ever have this issue.

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

I don't know about the circulation thing, but I would suggest that you stand up to practice your electric. If you eventually want to play in a band, you'll be standing on the stage, so it's a really good idea to get used to the way the guitar hangs on you when you play standing. You may find that you have to alter the way you play ever so slightly when you switch from sitting to standing.

I practice my acoustics sitting down and my electrics standing up.

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

I would echo what Elecktrablue said. I've found that after practicing the majority of time while sitting down, I had trouble playing simple open chords like B7 while standing. Why? I found that I was tucking my elbow in close to my chest while playing in a sitting position.