Clear all

learning by ear

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@akflyingv)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

So I started learning this Freddie King song by ear last night, and its my first to learn in that way. I am mainly trying to listen to a few notes and then sing them and then try to find it on guitar. Am I going at this right??? So far i've only got the first 9 notes after 2 hours.

I know it doesn't seem like much but in trying to find the notes I think I've already gotten better and added a lot of ideas to my playing. Well thanks for reading and if you have advice please feel free to share it with me. Thanks a lot everyone.

(@yamaha88)
Eminent Member

im pretty new at guitar so i might be the wrong person to listen to, but you asked am i doing this right? well i guess you are because thats what playing by ear is all about, listening to a few notes, and then jamming it out. anyway i found this awesome guitar program its called guitar pro and you can get pro tabs and listen at your pace and play along it helped me out a whole lot, maybe it will help you out if you ever decide that you dont want to play it by ear...hope i helped, good luck

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

as you said you are learning other things too.
so it is working.
I play along with CDs alot when learning. I'll repeat a phrase over and over to nail it.
Cant You Hear Me Knocking took many days.
now it is second nature.

one problem I experience : when searching for that first note, if I hit the wrong one I get off track really fast. alomost to the point of screwing the idea.
but with work it get back on track.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member