Notifications
Clear all

Les Paul sound vs. other guitars

15 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@slowrvr)
Topic starter  

I like the LP, mainly due to looks and cause Slash played (plays) one back in GN'R's heyday.
People talk of other guitars having the same sound though. I was at a guitar shop the other day and the guy was saying "consider this Godin, it has blah blah pickups etc and has that LP sound, if that what you're looking for."
Is it just the pickups that determine the sound? Or does the construction still affect electric guitars the same way it does accoustic guitars?
I know it seems a little shallow to want a guitar simply for its looks, or 'cause I like Slash, or the Alman Bros. or whatever. But I don't car LOL

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I'm no expert but I think with electrics is less about the construction since the are solid and more about the pick ups. Although I'm sure the body construction will affect the sound to some degree.

Any guitar that has humbucker pickups will give you a similar sound to the LP(not exactly the same but similar).

I'm just like you I wanted the LP because of the sound and I always thought Slash was a bad dude. But I couldn't afford an LP when I started so I got an Epiphone SG copy, which has humbucker pickups and has a similar sound and I liked it alot. I then bought a Strat that classic Fender sound.

As soon as I get enough money I will buy a LP....everyone needs at least one Strat and one LP in their lifetime.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

It is mostly:

1) pickups
2) wood type
3) neck construction

So any mahony guitar with a neck-through construction using proper humbuckers will sound like a standard LP. Godin, PRS, Dean and many others make very good LP-like guitars.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member