Clear all

Lesson

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@shannon77)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Where can I find a lesson on how to play Stairway to heaven. I have a tab but I can't get any speed no matter how much I practice. Maybe there's some things I could be doing differently that would give me better efficeincy (play faster). I'm a total beginner trying to learn on my own.

Salvation is the best gift that exists and it's free.

(@jonetoe)
Reputable Member

Don't know if i'll be much help since its only 6 weeks for me but if you just started you can't just start playing led zepelin songs. I would say practice chords and then move slowly between the chords back and forth, back and forth until your speed builds. Check out the basic open chords on this site......here's a link to stairway to heaven chords, beginners usually play chords when they tackle thier first song like me
http://www.guitartabs.cc/fetchfile.php?fileid=12073922

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Shannon

On here go to "outa site" lesson links (forum main menu) - I am sure one of the lessons on Planetalk's site is Stairway.

Cheers

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Stairway isn't a beginner-friendly song. You need to do a lot of work on your way up to it.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member

Stairway isn't a beginner-friendly song. You need to do a lot of work on your way up to it.

Best,

A :-)

I second that. I tried to play the openning bits when I was a month in. I struggled and managed to memorize the first six notes after three days. I gave up and tried six months later, picked up all the first bits within 15 mins.

-Metaellihead

ReplyQuote
(@shannon77)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

:shock: