Notifications
Clear all

looking for the right combination of beginners books

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@laymandonald)
Topic starter  

i am a beginner and right now i am looking for the right combination of books to improve my basic skills for the moment i spend roughly 2 to 2 1/2 hours a day practicing and i currently use the following books
1. mel bays guitar method books 1-5
2 berklee complete guitar method
3.mi complete rhythm guitar
4. total scales and technique
5. music theory
right now i am trying to focus on building a solid understanding of basic guitar skills and techniques and will eventually focus all my attention on blues and rock styles. any solid feed back would be well appreciated

(@alangreen)

I think at this point some time in the company of a decent teacher would be money better spent than any more books.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

+1 to finding a good teacher, but some other books to consider:

1. David Hodge's Idiot's Guide to Rock Guitar
2. Troy Stetina's Total Rock Guitar
3. John Ganape's Blues You Can Use

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@laymandonald)
Topic starter  

i like to get a teacher unfortuantly at this time i work as a industrial electrician and neither have the time nor the money to really sit down and take lessons from a teacher so i basically use books to teach myself

ReplyQuote
(@apache)
Reputable Member

As someone who has acquired many books in the first 6 months of attempting to play the guitar, there are a couple that I've found useful:-

From Zero to Rock Hero - good coverage of the basics