Notifications
Clear all

Lowering action

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@sixstringnoob)
Topic starter  

I have been taking lessons and using an acoustic (classical) for a while now, but I also have an Agile Les Paul knockoff.
I have always avoided the electric because I always found it really tricky to play, but today I tried something... I lowered the action and retuned.
Wow what a difference! The guitar is now a joy to play and I find things that are really difficult on my acoustic are quite easy on the Agile.

Since I don't really know what I am doing, is there anything I could have done here to mess up the "setup" of my guitar?
It seems to still sound great after re-tuning of course, but are there other factors here that I may not know about? Can I leave it as is?

Being a beginner, I am mostly playing up at the top of the neck, but could I have messed things up on the high frets by doing this?
I tried sounding all the notes and they seem ok...

Sorry for the silly question.

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,

If it sounds OK you should be fine. I wouldn't do any more worrying in advance. You can always learn more if and when you strike any other difficulties.

People can sometimes get confused about what can be fixed by adjusting the truss rod, and when it's appropriate to lower the action at the bridge or the nut. The usual outcome of adjusting the wrong thing, or taking it too far, is likely to be buzzing at some of the frets when you play in certain areas. But if you've played up and down the neck and it plays nicely now without having caused any buzzing at some of the frets, then I'd say you've scored a win there. 8) Enjoy. :)

Chris

ReplyQuote
(@voidious)
Estimable Member