Notifications
Clear all

Major trouble with nerves..

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@guy-bergman)
Topic starter  

Hi, im a begginer/intermediate guitarist , i play in a local band doing small gigs etc for partys, had a gig last night infront of 200 folk, i shat my pants... Ive been in the band for about a year with friends, but i still cant seem to play even a simple solo infront of them because of nerves, when im sitting at home practicing and playing something its perfect, as soon as i get infront of someone and do a solo it all falls apart. It doesnt seem to matter how well i know the part i just cant play it. Its getting really frustrating, at the mo the band ( http://www.closecall.vze.com ) is learning whiskey in the jar and im doing the lead. I can play the solo easy almost without thinking about it because i practiced it so much, try and play it infront of anyone and its as if i cant play guitar at all. Being in a band i sorta need to get over it somehow. Any ideas? do all players get this at the start?

(@u2bono269)
Noble Member

I had that problem too. My first time in front of people (about 30) i messed up the solo for Jumper. What really got me out of the whole stage fright thing was playing a song at a banquet in front of 350 people and newscameras. I played a simple song with just power chords while my friend sang. After that, I'm ready to play in front of anyone. I just say to myself, well I played for all those people with their suits and ties, and it went well, and I can do this. So last time I played somewhere, it was at a memorial service for like, 50 people. I played a song I had learned the day before, and I had confidence because I was able to play in front of the larger crowd. So I'd say that it was playing for all those people that broke me.