Skip to content
may not sound like ...

Notifications
Clear all

may not sound like a "beginner's" question . . .

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@briank)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I am fascinated with Jimmy Page's guitar work. But one thing that I really love is when he uses a violin bow to play the guitar. I've tried to emulate that style by playing an electric with some sort of echo (I'm not an effects expert), and just hitting a chord really fast, muting it, and letting it echo a little bit. But I would love to learn how to slide something slowly across the strings like a bow (not with an actual slide on your finger). Does anyone have any simple ideas on how to copy this style? I figure you would tune the guitar to an open chord, but what would I use as a bow? Any ideas, no matter how crazy (as long as they don't hurt the guitar) would be much appreciated.

"All I see is draining me on my Plastic Fantastic Lover!"

(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member

u wanna try something cool, doesnt really sound like the bow I don't think but take an electric nail file that spins around and hold it just above the pickups

'You and I in a little toy shop, bought a bag of balloons with the money we got"

feel free to talk with me on msn at [email protected]..... no icq anymore

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Do you want the sound or the experience of bowing? If it's just the sound, use a volume pedal to create swells or buy an eBow.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@gizzy)
Estimable Member

The hardest part of playing violin is on how to use the bow so it takes alot of practice also a good bow cost close to $300.00 so a good bow gives better sound they are made from horses hair.

:D

ReplyQuote
(@briank)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Do you want the sound or the experience of bowing?

I want to be able to do it just like Page does it on all the Zeppelin footage I've seen. And that ebow looks pretty expensive and I think I'm short a nail file :( Any other ideas?