Skip to content
Missing out on how ...

Notifications
Clear all

Missing out on how much, if not taking lessons?

25 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@minotaur)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

As I've said a couple of times, I was taking lessons from January to August of this year, after a 19-20 year hiatus of learning. Twenty years ago I took lessons and practiced for about 9 months. Then I gave it all up. So even though I remembered a few riffs and some standard notation from back then, when I started lessons this year I was a beginner.

I think I've come a pretty good distance this year, but I still have some roughness in the basics. After all this time, Fmaj is still a bear for me. It's kind of hit-or-miss. :oops:

I'll tell you what I know I'm not good at...
1. Barre chords, though I try working at them.
2. Pentatonic scales. I'm just not interested in them right now; I'm more interested in rhythm than soloing or lead.
3. I have a basic, but not complete understanding of chord intervals and keys. I have a detailed and colorful chart I put together for those.

It may seem that I don't think there are too many things I'm not good at (get that? good, cause now I'm confused :lol: ), but I don't know what I don't know (well, that's even worse :roll: ).

The tools I have to work with are...
1. This site of course. I've learned and am learning more than I imagined when I first stumbled in here.
2. Guitar For Dummies and Rock Guitar For Dummies, which I think I need to read more thoroughly.
3. Rosetta Stone of Guitar (which I have yet to look into).
4. Determination.

So I am wondering, hopefully not sounding arrogant, how much do you miss out by not taking paid-for lessons? I know one of the things I miss is not having someone to coach me, play with, jam with.

I hope this helps other beginners too.

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

(@jase36)
Reputable Member