Clear all

Motivation

17 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@taver)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been a beginner for, oh must getting on for 9 years now. Yup still a beginner! i can only do simple chord stuff, maybe the odd bar chord and little finger picking. So ive had a guitar for 9 years and ive hardly touched it.

I always seem to have an excuse, the usual one, not enough time in the day. There are so many things i'd love to do, but no time to do them. i might practice every day for a week and then not pick up my guitar for another 3 months.

So how do guys keep yourselves motivated?

One day !!
http://www.soundclick.com/taver
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQhXgRKobGI

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

i started playing at 26, with the simple goal of being able to strum to some songs on my cd player. That came quickly so my goal became bar chords. they were so hard for me so when i cracked them i thought "Hell, with enough practice i can do anything".

i then put the bar a lot higher and aimed to play my favourite songs no matter how hard. now, at 29, i am still an intermediate at best, but i gig every week with a locally sucessful pub band (see band website below) and practice an hour a day religously.

what keeps me motivated is not the player i am now, but the thought of the player i will be in 10 years. i always see improvement, not a month goes by without me being significantly better than i was and i just love the feeling that i am improving (and thats at anything - not just guitar).

also, this forum is great motivator. if i need help, i know one of the guys here will eventually come up with the answer i need - this site stops me feeling lost.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member