Clear all

Most frustrating and rewarding thing I've ever undertaken

17 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@srpntmage)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Kind of a progress report/blog here,since my previous posts for those interested and to keep track for myself.

Now that I've been playing for about 3.5 months ( I think), I can honestly say that trying to teach myself to play the guitar is the most frustrating and rewarding thing I've ever undertaken.

Some days I want to take my poor little Seagull A6 and smash it to a million pieces. Other days I can't imagine not ever playing again.

I'm struggling to play a few songs, that for some reason I just can't nail down.

Johnny Cash - Hurt: Pretty easy chord changes, but focussing on appegiating (sp) and changing chords, and keeping in time is not easy for me. I've been picking away at this one for a couple months.

The Animals- House of the Rising Sun: Just started on it. Same deal as Hurt. Appegiating and changing chords......not easy for me.

Alice in Chains - Nutshell: Also just started. An awsome song and I'm doing well with it actually. You guys should give this one a shot.

CCR - Bad Moon Rising: Should be easy, no hard changes and an easy strum pattern. I just can't get it to sound clean and my fingers are too stinking slow sometimes.

Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here; I'll be working on this one forever. So many parts and so many different skills in this one. I only have the very beginning worked out.

Licks and Riffs: Day tripper intro, Redemption song intro, Blister in the Sun intro, Wish you were here intro,

Chords/ Scales Learned:
Am, A, C, Cadd9, F (still working on it), G (couple diff. fingerings), E, Em, D, Dm and a bunch of add and suspended versions of various chords.

Minor Pentatonic in 2 positions and Blues scale at pretty fast speed most days. I've started trying to make up and learn riffs with them.

Problems:
"C to G" & "G to C" still way too slow

F chord is rough still

Everything needs more speed