Clear all

My action dropped bigtime...

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@phinnin)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Is there anything I total beginner when it comes to truss-rods can do? I don't know what happened but I go to play my strat and suddenly the action is so low I cannot play anything on the first 10 frets without buzz. I look at the action and its way down, nearly touching at fret 1.

About 2 months ago I had the local repair guy do a complete setup on the rig and at that time is was perfect. I hadn't noticed anything going wrong until now.

Temperature changes have occurred bigtime here. We have been enduring freezing weather so I am hoping that might explain it.

Anyway, can/should I take a shot at fixing it so I can play through the holiday weekend or am I screwed?

Please advise,

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

You can fix that easily. You simply need to LOOSEN the truss rod SLIGHTLY.

When a truss rod is too tight it stretches the neck out straight. It forces the headstock downward. So exaggerated, your neck looks like a frown. :cry: This will often cause fret buzz, especially in frets 1-5.

When you loosen the truss rod, the string tension will pull the headstock up. Now your neck is shaped like a smile. :D This is called relief.

So, if your guitar was set up properly, and you have not raised or lowered the saddles, then yes, probably you need to slightly loosen the truss rod.

MAKE SMALL ADJUSTMENTS. MAYBE 1/4 TURN AT A TIME.

To adjust your truss rod:

1)Loosen all strings until they are slack.

2)Turn truss rod counter-clockwise in a small adjustment, 1/4 turn at most.

3)Tune strings back to correct pitch.

4)Allow some time, at least 2 or 3 hours for the strings to pull the headstock up.

5)If after waiting, the neck needs further adjustment, loosen strings again, make another minor adjustment to the truss rod, tune back up, and give a little time for the adjustment to settle in.

Loosen truss rod= Turn counter-clockwise