Clear all

My first lesson!

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@jester)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi! I've been reading GN for a few weeks, and have just started to explore the Forums. It's such a great site--I've learned a ton from reading it, and I'm really impressed with how nice and helpful everyone here is. Thank you already!

Since I expect to be around for a while, I thought I might as well introduce myself. I'm an absolute beginner, in my mid-30s, and though I've been passively interested in playing the guitar for a long time, I've never done anything about it, mostly because it's always seemed so challenging and difficult to me. It doesn't help that the stuff I generally like is really complicated. My main interest is British folk-rock from the '60s and '70s--Richard Thompson, John Renbourn, Bert Jansch. I do like guitar-driven classic rock in general, but usually lean towards the acoustic side of things even here.

A month or two ago my passive interest became much stronger, and when it didn't go away, I thought, "Maybe I should finally give it a shot." So I started reading GN and other sites, talked to a few teachers, considered getting a guitar. I figured I'd get an inexpensive acoustic, with the goal of upgrading in a few months if I stuck with it, but I made the mistake of mentioning this to a family member who said, "Oh, your sister has had a guitar in the basement for 20 years, I'm sure it's good," and I got guilted into using this horrible piece of nylon-strung crap. However, it stays in tune for at least an hour, so even though it sounds like hell, and I recoil from it as a physical object, it's probably good enough for the next month or so. (In general I have a tendency to always want expensive things, which I usually can't afford, so I'm concerned about what I'll want to upgrade to....)