Clear all

My Goals - What steps to reach them?

15 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@drunkrock)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hopefully you folks can help me out. Given that I cannot afford lesson at this point in time, hopefully some able teachers on this forum can help me. I have been playing guitar for just about a yeah and a half, and I believe I finally have some solid goals to work towards. Unfortunately they are not, as far I can imagine, easily self-taught.

My ultimate (semi-intangible) goal is to write, and perform, music in a band context. I have no illusions of making it big, but being able to play my first local show in a couple years would be great. Thus I have several sub-goals:

"Play by Ear"
I want to be able transcribe, jam and improvise music. Currently I am doing ear training using the programs on http://www.musictheory.net . It is slow going so far, but only started this month. I currently do 50 'questions' each of chords and intervals; my goal is to reach 95% for at least a week before adding another chord or interval. Am I going about this right way? If not, how should I proceed?

"Read and Write Music"
This is a pretty monumental task. I want to be able to sight read standard notation, and understand enough theory to compose my own music. With a help from a fretboard key I can pick out simple melody lines but it's nowhere near where I want to be.

"Technique"
Right not I am really focusing on hybrid picking and timing. However hybrid picking does not have alot of material available to learn from. I currently learn songs, and then play them with a metronome to get my timing down; it certainly has improved my timing. Also, I do not want to have my technique limit my ability to express my musical idea; BIG TASK!