11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@thegrimm)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Finally, I have bought my new electric guitar:
http://www.ibanez.com/guitars/guitar.asp?model=RG321MH&color=2

Very nice guitar for me, and it even sounds good unplugged. However, I'm having some problems, in that I can't hear the higher strings through the amp. If I play from low to high, the sound coming out of the amp gets progressively softer, and the high E I can't hear at all, except from the guitar. It's a little confusing, as I hear some sound from the amp, and some from the guitar:-)

I'm new to the electric guitar thing, but from reading the manuals (gasp :shock: ), it seems it could be that the battery in the guitar needs replacement (no clear place for a battery as far as I can see, except unscrewing the panel in the back), or the pickups are set too low and not properly picking up the string vibrations (and the lower strings, being thicker, pickup better). What sort of distance should the pickups be from the strings?

Could also be the amp or the cables, but I can't offer useful thoughts on those...

(@bennett)
Reputable Member

Congratulations mate! I only just picked up my new guitar last week so I know how you're feeling about now! 8)

Unfortunately I haven't got any manuals for mine so was just playing around with the knobs and switches, not really having any idea what they do. :P

As it turned out I had the same problem as you. In my case it was the selector switch ... presumably it puts emphasis on the bass or treble strings or a balance between the two. The other thing is to ensure all the knobs are even, or even try turning the bass ones down a bit.

Hope this helps. :)

From little things big things grow - Paul Kelly

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

If you hold the string down at the last fret, the high e string should be about 2mm (5/64") from the string and the low E should be about 3mm (1/8").

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.