My teacher

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@juletto)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello All!!!!!!

i have been playing for 6 months and I am a little worried about the way my teacher is teaching me. At first he taught me the notes then several chords i have now mastered these.

Our lessons now consist of me bringing in songs i would like to learn and then him showing me how to play them. I learn the songs quite well but my point is shouldn't he be teaching me theory and things i can apply to other songs rather than just learning particular songs???

Being a school teacher my self i fell the way he is teaching is similar to making a 6 yr old memorize a single book and then saying they can read.

i live in a area where there aren't many teachers and although i have painted a dismal picture here i think he is quite good as he is professionally trained and well regarded in the area so i don't want to get rid of him but any suggestions on how i can get him to teach me more would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

Well, you should have already discussed you goals.

I would just tell him what I wanted to learn and where I wanted to be in 3 or 5 years. I am sure he will be open to teaching you what you want to know.

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@josephlefty)
Reputable Member

Songs and theory could be balanced if you just ask him.

Theory is the understanding and songs are the motivation.

The balance, over time will have everything fall into place one day.

If it was easy it wouldn't be worth doing.

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

This is a pretty common thing. It happened to me several times with my teacher as well. But I've come to realize that he sees me for 30 minutes a day and really doesnt have a clue what my interest, goals, and so forth are. He has probably 50 to 100 students and although I am very important to him, I know because he told me so. :D He cant keep every detail about each student in the fore front of his mind.

SO