Clear all

Need help with the metronome...

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@audioboy)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

So I was just recently given a chromatic picking excersize (I know excersize is spelled wrong) and he told me a metronome would be a good idea, but I don't know how fast the metronome should be. I have tried it on all sorts of setting but I can't seem to find the right one. Can someone help me out, keep in mind I am a beginner and play fairly slow.

(@steve-0)
Noble Member

Start out by setting it as slow as you can, or if that's too slow try at around 60-80 bpm. At that speed play one note per click (quarter notes), if that's too easy try moving the speed up to 100 bpm, if that's too easy go for 120 bpm.

Since you're a beginner, that would probably would be a good place to start. After you're more comfortable you could try 8th notes (2 notes per beat), triplets (3 notes per beat) and 16th notes (4 notes per beat).

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

If it were me, I would start it at the slowest speed I could possibly stand. A speed where I could play every single note without making a mistake. Then I would bump it up 5bpm until i was struggling just a bit. The I would practice at that speed until it was flawless. Bump it up and go again.

Amd 1f u no exersize ids speld rong y tipe 1t tad waye. :lol:

geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@audioboy)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Well....nevermind. My metronome just stopped ticking for some reason...

ReplyQuote
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

Well....nevermind. My metronome just stopped ticking for some reason...

Try a new battery or restart it. :D

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

ReplyQuote
(@thegrimm)
Estimable Member

A speed where I could play every single note without making a mistake.

:) How often?