Clear all

Need Input RE: My Lessons

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@slowfingers)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Last week, I took my first guitar lesson, hoping to get myself started in the right direction. I have been playing for 4 weeks. I have a lot of musical background on brass instruments, but none on any string guitars. I have a decent understanding of music, how chords work, etc., and a good ear.

When I got to my lesson, the instructor asked me to show him what I know. So, I played a few nut chords (C,D,Em,E,G,Am) and the C scale and the E Blues scale. I told him I could halfway play my way through a couple of sings that were nothing but strumming on those chords. He also knows about my prior music background.

So, right away, he breaks out a chart of barre chords, showing me how to play all the chords I already know in several different positions by barring. Then he breaks a few scales for me to play up the neck, some major and one pentatonic. He went through them with me real quick, and then we were done.

I just don't know about this. I have been working on these things he gave me, but I am struggling with them. I am torn on what I should think about where he is trying to get me to go. Part of me says that this may be the best way, because I am going to get used to the harder stuff (playing up the neck rather than being stuck at the end like many guitarists are, and giving myself more chord options). But another part of me believes in the "crawl before you walk" principle. Shouldn't I be at least a little proficient in the easier stuff before moving on to more difficult material? For example, playing songs that combine chords with little riffs and such?

He is the teacher and I am paying him to teach me the best way. If this really is the way an inexperienced player should go about learning at this stage, then great. I will take my lumps and learn from it. I just know that, right now, I am way, way, outside my comfort zone.