Clear all

Need Some Help With Reading This Tab

27 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@hisnameismatt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys..I'm VERY new to guitar and have read some online information about how to read tabs. So, I decided to look up an "easy" song to try to play. I found a song on mysongbook.com called '40 Kinds of Sadness' by a guy named 'Ryan Cabrera' and it's supposedly a very easy song. However..I am not sure I understand completely how to read the tab.

Here's what it looks like..

Verse

--------------------------------------------------------------|
------------------9-9------7-7------9-9-----------------------|
-----4-4----------9-9------7-7------9-9-----------------------|
-----4-4----------7-7------5-5------7-7-----------------------|
-----2-2------------------------------------------------------|

Chorus

------------------9-9---------------7-7-----------------------|
---7--7-----------9-9-----4-4-------7-7-----------------------|
---7--7-----------7-7-----4-4-------5-5-----------------------|
---5--5-------------------2-2---------------------------------|

Now..I'm a little confused on how I play it..Could someone help me position my fingers and better explain how to read this tab, because I've read a lot of online tutorials and haven't been able to stumble onto anything useful. It would be deeply appreciated. Thank you very much for your time!

Eric

Here's a link to a video of him playing it acoustic (which is what I have..an acoustic guitar) and it doesn't look like his fingers go anywhere near the 7th or or 9th fret..I'm really confused..I really want to learn this song...)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7lENKvj42eA&search=40%20kinds%20of%20sadness

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Basically just a bunch of powerchords:

Verse: F#5 E5 D5 E5
Chorus: A5 E5 F#5 D5

How to play them: Play the root note (the lowest note) with your index finger. Play the other two using one of these ways:

1) ring and pinky