Notifications
Clear all

New Strings??

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@onebadskwerl)
Topic starter  

I bought an Art and Lutherie guitar in October of 2005. According to their website they use Godin 'Light' strings ( http://www.artandlutherieguitars.com/Strings.htm ). Now, I figure mine probably need to be replaced at the smaller strings are losing their silver colour and going black and the low E string is corroding (some small amounts of green junk on it). My problem is I don't know what guage of strings to replace them with? I mainly play songs with chords as I'm not very good at plucking :oops: I'm also not sure what brand to buy. I've done a search of the forum and most people seem to recommend exelir strings but are they really worth 4x as much for someone as untalented as myself?

So basically I'm asking what guage and/or brand strings should I purchase (currently there are Godin Light strings on it).

Thanks!

(@telemarker)
Trusted Member

Any brand will do, but I'd stick with light guage strings for a while if you're new to guitar - they're easier on your fingers. Elixers are good, they last a long time because they're wrapped in a gore-tex sheath (that's also why they cost so much). There are other long lasting strings other than Elixers; Dean Markley Blue Steel strings are cryogenically frozen and will last you a little longer than regular strings but they don't cost anywhere near as much as Elixers. The best thing to do is try a few different brands to see what you like.

ReplyQuote
(@onebadskwerl)
Topic starter