Notifications
Clear all

New to guitar (very new)

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@samuraikai)
Topic starter  

Hey guys, im totally new to the guitar world and i finally convinced my mom n dad to let me learn. I have a few questions by the way...

1. What kind should i start with? Acoustic, Electric, or Hybrid?

2. How much should i spend on my first guitar?

3. Think i'll be interested?

:D :D :D answer back!

(@snoogans775)
Reputable Member

welcome to guitarnoise! and for that matter, welcome to guitar!

I've never shown guitars to a completely new guitarist before, and I have trouble recalling what I was able to notice in guitars upon my first test, so I'll talk about the other question

Electric-technically easier to play than an acoustic thinner strings, and the strings are easier to push down to the board(this is called action, more or less)

Acoustic-develops your ear, and challenges you to conquer the technical aspects of the first stages of guitar, so if you are as stubborn as I was, an acoustic is for you, since the sound is great and it's a much simpler setup(no amp, no cables, no knobs)
that's a little over-the-top, acoustics aren't as hard to play as I just made it sound

another thing, what music do you want to play? you will enjoy playing greatly if you're playing music you really love, amongst all the scales and traditional practice songs I advocate learning

and while I'm on the subject of the important things to learn, hnow do you feel about a teacher? it's priceless to have a teacher, I say this, though I am self-taught, since my learning process has been so painfully slow and aggravating under my own inadequate tutelage.

and MOST OF ALL, enjoy this instrument, practice and play, play and perform and practice, guitar can be an incredible emotional experience, if you approach it with healthy goals and a realistic mindset. It's great, but I could rave on and o-

I don't follow my dreams, I just ask em' where they're going and catch up with them later.