Clear all

Newbie Training Schedule

22 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@wessie)
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I'm very new to this whole guitar business, only got my first guitar a couple of days ago for a x-mas gift! I'm not the most patient of people and made the same mistake as many beginners - I want to know everything NOW. Read on the internet, various Forums, Blogs and sites and tried to consume everything at once. All this info was too much and it didn't take long to get this dreaded feeling of: I'll never be able to play the guitar. :(

So, for the last two days I didn't pick up the guitar once, I only sorted through all the info, to try and make sense of it all and basically forced myself to take a one-step-at-a-time approach. After some real in depth investigation I came up with the following plan; to be implemented tonight!

Step one: I organized my work space, took the armrest's off my chair and made sure I'm comfortable.

Step 2: I made nice colour print-outs of the 7 mayor chords and will be posting it against the wall.

Step 3: I made myself a practice schedule. Only 3 exercises and just 10min per exercise, with a 15min break in between. Repeating it 5 times. It look something like this:
E1 - Chords: Learn a new chord and practice known one's.
E2 - Strumming: Found this great article on the site - Strumming for Beginners by Matt Guitar.
E3 - Chord changes: Practice changing chords in a smooth un-interrupted way through visualization.

The sort term goal behind this is to get the basics right and from there progress to more “advanced” exercises.

So, what do you think? Anything I should add to my exercise program? :D

Thanks

(@montezuma)
Estimable Member

As a newbie to the site you may not have come across David Hodge yet. He says in one of his many highly useful articles: