Clear all

Pick Holding Advice

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@specialsof)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Am I the only person in the world that has this problem: I have a tendency to drop my pick while strumming - or the pick will eventually change positions which means I need to stop and hold it correctly again. I don't know if it's because my fingers/thumb are smooth, but it is annoying to me. Any advice on how others have whipped this problem would be appreciated. I use the regular flat picks.

(@sticky)
Trusted Member

I'm a guitar newb but it seems like the more I practice the less frequently it happens. I imagine that it's a matter of time, I figure a few years down the road it will be more like an extension of my hand and I won't suffer the issues of a beginner.......hopefully! :)

How do you know if a drummer is knocking on your door.....

The knocking speeds up.

ReplyQuote
(@drunkrock)
Estimable Member

I found that through practice my pick moved less and less, my grip became better and better. It also helps to try a variety of pick shapes and sizes. My hand really like small teardrop shaped picks, and that's the last shape I'd thought I'd be able to hold.

It's all practice and experimentation.

ReplyQuote
(@mhlandry)
Trusted Member

I think the dropping/moving pick is all a part of the learning process. Next time you pick up your guitar, pay some close attention to your strumming. If I had to guess, I'd say that your strumming is probably jumpy and uneven. Maybe sometimes you dig into the strings which causes the pick to shift around in your fingers. At least that was the problem I had/am having.

One thing I did was to buy a thinner pick. It'll flex more when you hit the strings, and it'll also force you to develop that light touch just a little more. Or maybe that was just in my head and the problem isn't as bad solely from practice.