Notifications
Clear all

Picking Technique

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@dustin)
Topic starter  

Hey guys, (and of course I mean that in a totally non-gender specific way!)

I have a question about pick technique. I am an absolute beginner and I know this will probably improve with time, but I am confused on what kind of right hand technique I should use. Does anyone have some tips on how to maintain reference between the six strings. I have to concentrate so hard on fretting the notes that I have a terrible time hitting the right string with my pick. Also, when I play chords I have a difficult time evenly strumming each of the proper strings, particularly with up strokes. And finally, in what manner should I try to strike the strings with the pick? Should I hold it at a specific angle and how much should actually make contact with the string? I know lots of questions :? (and I have more on the way I'm sure!) I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Dustin

I got my first real six string,
Bought it at the five and dime...
Played it til my fingers bled
OUCH! That's no joke!

(@josephlefty)
Reputable Member

Don't try to get good at both hands at the same time. Try strumming just all the strings while concentrating on your chords. When you get the chords on reflex without looking, then work on your picking. Or vice versa (hold one chord and work on picking), whichever way you prefer, just the point is to work on one thing at a time until you are happy with your progress. When you can work both things separately, then you can work on your hands working together. :D

If it was easy it wouldn't be worth doing.

ReplyQuote
(@dustin)
Topic starter