8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@goodvichunting)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi Guys

I made an observation today.
My pinky curls in a lot towards the ring finger, especially on the high E string.
Sometimes it's almost touching the ring finger.

Is this normal? I should mention that I have been using my pinky ever since I started playing.
Perhaps, I need to strengthen a particular tendon in the hand ... Can someone suggest any excercises.

Thanks,
Vic

Latest addition: Cover of "Don't Panic" by Coldplay
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=502670

(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Get big hammer, lay pinky on hard immovable object, pound pinky into submission! :lol:

Just kidding!

Are you talking about when you are using your pinky to fret a note, or when it's just hanging around? I just noticed that when I'm playing & not using my pinky, that it's usually straight out, but when I'm fretting a note, either alone or for a chord, it bends in alittle towards my ring finger. If it's not causing you to hit other strings on accident, I don't think it's a problem.

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

ReplyQuote
(@mhlandry)
Trusted Member

I have the same problem. If I hold my hand straight up and down, then bend my fingers at the second nuckle, my pinky curls in and almost touches my ring finger. I'm constantly stretching it and pulling on it to try to correct that, but I don't know if it does any good. For what it's worth, it doesn't seem as bad on my fretting hand as it does on my strumming hand.