Notifications
Clear all

Power cord trouble

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@emrcap)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone. I just started playing and i have been having trouble with my power cords. I am trying to play a song but i am having a bit of trouble. I am able to hold down all 6 strings with my index finger, but when i try to stretch my other finger to the fret 2 places down i feel like i am doing the finger splits, and i am having trouble holding the strings down. Is this normal for a begginer guitar or are my fingers just challenged? I actually have pretty big hands so i dunno what my issue is lol. Maybe bad form? Any pointers would be appreciated

(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

Ok, from the title I thought you might be having a problem with your amp. :P

From your description it sounds like your are attempting barre chords (or sometimes bar chords). It also sounds like you are trying the A-shaped barre chord (barre across a fret and then barre two frets higher on strings 2 to 4), right? Which fingers are you using? Normally people use the first (index) finger for the main barre and the third (ring) finger for the barre two frets higher. Is that what you are doing? If so, then give it time - barre chords are hard and your finger reach will stretch over time.

Maybe spend 5 to 10 minutes every day working on them. They can be tiring for a beginner so maybe do it at the end of your practice session. For a while it may not seem like you are making progress but you will very gradually get better at it.

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

yeah. as a new player you are going to have all kinds of pain in your fingers.
your finger tips will hate you for a month or so.
hang in there. everything is difficult and doesn't
TIP:
don't try to strangle the guitar neck. yo8u don't have to push down very hard on the string to get them to work.