Clear all

Pro Guitar tabs

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@sskarupa)
Topic starter  

First some background:

I'm a total noob. After 30+ years of wishing I could play some instrument I finally decided that it was time... so I started taking guitar lessons in Jan of this year. I become totally enamored with it and after 6 months spend at least 30 and often a couple hours practicing every day (baseball games make great background to practicing chords over and over)...

I've learned 1/2 dozen opening riffs of songs, but finally decided (after the wife threatened divorce if I didn't learn more than just the first few bars of songs) that I needed to buckle down and learn a complete song. My teacher is very flexible and has let me flit across the landscape teaching me as we go. It's been a great ride and I'm learning a lot...

Because I want to learn entire songs, I have recently been focusing on chords and chord transitions. Frustrating to say the least - but it's true - practice works! Now, I want to use some of the chord progressions (A, Em, D, G, Am, C) I have learned in songs... But tab seems to be very limited - doesn't have the rhythm and so even if I hit the chords in the right order, it never seems to sound like the song. My teacher has recorded a few simple chord based songs (Margaritaville for example) and taught me a couple strumming patterns. I slow down the recording and try to strum along, but this is not sustainable over time - not sure my teacher is going to want to record a version of every song I want to learn.

So, recently, I picked up Pro-Guitar. I figured that it could help me start to associate notes that I was playing with the formal sheet music. I transposed some of the simple method music my daughter has and have been very impressed with how I can use that to start correlating what my teacher has been teaching me and the written music. All in an effort to pick up full songs.