Notifications
Clear all

question about a Fender Newporter

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@apollia)
Topic starter  

Hi, I know you probably get these kind of questions all the time, but I was wondering if you could help me. I have recently come into posession of a Fender Newporter, it belonged to my fiance's grandparents, and had been sitting in the bottom of their closet for many years. It is a beautiful guitar with a wonderful sound, well preserved (although the case has seen better days). I don't know anything about guitars since I am just learning to play, but I would like to know if anyone has any information about this guitar, or knows where I could find it? I think it was made in the 60's but that is only a guess. Thanks so much.

Adrienne

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

All I could find was this:

"14 3/8" wide, mahogany back and sides, single bound top, unbound back, 25.5" scale, dot fingerboard inlays.

* Introduced in 1965 with spruce top.
* Mahogany top, 3 ply pickguard, black finish (optional) by 1968.
* Discontinued 1971. "

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
 lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

Well, I have a Newporter myself, and I agree, its a beautiful guitar with a great sound. Mine its about to develop a crack at the top of the neck so I'm a little bit sad though :(
Only place I've read about it is here http://www.dylanchords.com/professors/dylans_guitars.htm . It says the series was discontinued in the 70s (because the sound wasn't good...?). Mine is definitely newer than that (bought in 1991(?))

[Cool with the name too IMO - Newport is the festival where Bob Dylan really went electric in 1965. THis was hard for the hard-core folk people - the story goes that Pete Seeger was trying to cut the electricity with an axe while Bob was playing (with Mike Bloomfield, Al Kooper ...) ]