Notifications
Clear all

Question about Jasmine by Takamine S35

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@tcombs07)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone, I just have one question. I am a beginner and I just recently bought a Jasmine by Takamine S35 acoustic guitar. I heard a bunch of great things about them from the reviews and how they were great beginners guitars. And my questions is has anyone played a Jasmine guitar and are they really as good as the reviews say they are for beginners?

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

I don't know if it's the same model, but my daughter bought a Jasmine, then quickly lost interest when her fingers got sore. I did a little setup - nut slots, a tiny bit of trussrod adjustment, and it was really playable. She'd already lost interest though, but it was a really good-playing guitar at that point. She wound up selling it to a friend who fell in love with how easy it played.

They're really pretty nice, but...if you get a nice setup and not-so-thick strings, it's way more fun to play. The same could be said or just about any guitar :)

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

to be honest the horse is already out of the barn if you've bought it already.

the thing about lower end guitars is they are really a crap shoot weather it will be a good one or not.
if you were able to have it checked out by a friend who plays then you might be able to pick the best one of the bunch or at least avoid getting a bad one.

reguardless, a $100 guitar is not much of a loss if it turns out to be a dog and with a $45 investment in a set up it can sometimes make a cheapo a keeper.

Takamine makes great guitars, Jasmine is their low end line and the S35 is about as cheap as you can go.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

tcombs07 wrote: are they really as good as the reviews say they are for beginners