Skip to content
Question About Shif...

Notifications
Clear all

Question About Shifting Frets (I really need help!)

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@thatsrad)
Topic starter  

When do you shift?? I'm so confused...I'm learning by the teacher/books and I'm trying to learn some stuff on my own, but reading tabs is not the book's forte...so I'm working on figuring out tabs, but it's telling me to play on the 7th and 9th frets and I don't know how to position my fingers, like which fingers do I use for that sort of thing? When do I shift up and which fingers do I use on the higher frets beyond first position? (I'm not positive that's how you say it; I'm used to violin lingo, not guitar. Hopefully you know what I mean.)
I really would like to know. I'm just a beginner and I really could use the help. Thanks everyone! Very Happy

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

I suggest that you start here in our Absolute Beginners Section.

Inside there I would suggest Your Very Own Rosetta Stone - A Guide To Reading Musical Notation Part One, Absolute Beginner: Part 1 Chords and Timing Is Everything - A Guide To Reading Musical Notation Part Two and Improving Your Chord Changes.

Hope those help! :D

And, welcome to GuitarNoise!!! We look forward to seeing you around the forums! :D

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
 Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

In that particular instance you'd fret the 7th fret with your pointer finger ,and the 9th with your ring finger.

Just think of the top line here as frets, and the bottom line as fingers

1234 <frets
1234 < fingers (pointer, middle, ring, pinky)

Much in the same way

123 4

When you get to the higher frets, it's really up to you/the situation. Sometimes I'll use less fingers

It's really all about what makes things comfortable and quick.