Notifications
Clear all

question about theory, notation, intervals

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@mantid)
Topic starter  

Hi, I'm a newbie to this site and learning music for real (though been noodling 15 years).

I really like the article Power of Three.

It leaves me with a question though. I understand this part:

"
Okay! F major chord? Start with F as your root, go up a major third (A) and then go up a minor third (C). Pretty easy, huh? B minor would start with B then go up a minor third to D and then a major third to F#. This is working out rather well.
"

I've been able to (correctly) reconstruct the major and minor open chords "on my own" so I think I get it.

However... all the examples were disclaimered as being in the key of C.

So I did a little reckoning on paper, and if I make, say, F be the I, the intervals all work out the same, right? F to A is always a major third, in any key, correct?

I'm still having a little trouble understanding what a key -is-. Its the first note of the scale? Its the variable "I" for the purpose of defining all the other relationships? I do see how changing the first note changes the values of I-II-III etc.

so is this leap of faith correct:

In the key of E, the progression

I-II-III would be E F G

however

in the key of C

I-II-III would be C D E

?

If so, did I just transpose a chord progression due to a change in key?

I hope this question makes sense...

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Yep, your question makes lots of sense.

When you're working in the key of F, the major chord works out exactly the same - up a major third to F, up a minor third to C. That's going to be true of any major chord in any key... and the same with the minor chords: up a minor third, then up a major third.

Key is synonymous with I, the first note of the scale. That's called the 'tonic', or 'key note'.