Clear all

Remembering Chord Progressions

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@planetluvver)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I was looking at The Definitive Paul Simon Songbook published by Amsco. Many of the songs have many, many chord changes.

I know I am not anywhere near the skill level to add any of these songs to my repetiore. But I am feeling lousy at the thought of the difficulty of remembering so many chord progressions.

Right now, I am telling myself that at some future point in time, when I am a better guitarist, remembering a chord progression will not be any more difficult than remembering the lyrics. The idea of rote memorization of complex chord progressions is frightening me.

Please someone, tell me this will be easier in the future... Is it like learning another language, and as I learn more, I will gain more fluency?

I still need to look at the sheet music for some of my 3 and 4 chord songs that I am currently practicing.

(@rocket-dog)
Reputable Member

Is it like learning another language, and as I learn more, I will gain more fluency?

Yes I think that is a very good comparison. As with a language, the more you use it, say in conversation, the easier it is to recall the words and phrases. Don't try and learn too many at once, maybe concentrate on one or two and get those under your belt then move on to learning a new one. As you do make sure you still play the ones you have already committed to memory in order that you don't forget those.

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Had the same fear don't worry you'll remember.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member