Clear all

Runs and Fills

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@sparrow-aka-honor-roller)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Anyone have any good runs and fills or sites with examples and/or lessons?

(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

Anyone have any good runs and fills or sites with examples and/or lessons?

Especially when going from a certain chord to another?

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

My questions are often a little vague...

Can't say i'm looking for specific chord progressions. but how about D to A?
Or Db to G?

I'm new to this so i'm not completely sure what to ask. I guess i'm really interested in learning fills, runs and progressions based on the minor scale. Hardcore/metal music, classical and spanish styles. If that helps in pointing me in the right direction.

Thanks for responding.

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Runs and fills are all about scales, and relating your run to the melody and harmonic backdrop of the song.

There are a million ways to go from D to A. And 50,000 of them will sound good in any particular song. To figure out what those ways that will work are, you have to know what's going on in the song and then do something on the guitar that either compliments, contrasts or highlights what's going on.

One of the best ways to start getting a feel for the things you can do is to start playing arpeggios of different chord voicings, listening to how the notes sound as you move from chord to chord. Then add some simple background chords and as you do the arpeggios start adding in important melodic licks.

Pretty soon you start to get a feel for when in a particular song you should be following the harmony, and when you should follow the melody, and when you can do your own thing.