Clear all

Scales practice

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@nadinne_spb)
Topic starter  

hello everybody,

I've got a really newbie question, terribly sorry for possible double threading, but couldn't find anything in the forum or the site. Well, here it is: how do you practise scales? I mean, it's pretty obvious with the left hand - you just fret the notes of the scale, but what is the right hand supposeed to be doing (I just pick the strings with my thumb, but somehow it doesn't seem to make much sence :shock: )?

Thank you

You always got to be prepared but you never know for what

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I am not a pro , quite a beginner myself (3 months ) so i understand ur spite.Don't feel bad.Take a deep breathe and goto the following link-

http://www.cyberfret.com

U gonna find everything there , scales to chords to whatever you need.Good luck

And , yes , welcome to the forum :)

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Basically what you are doing is correct. Just go through the scales one note at a time and picking the string. There are two goals in learning the scales. The first is obvious and that is to become good at the fingering and picking. The second is to learn the notes on the fretboard so don't just play the scales memorize the notes. A good practice routine is to finger the notes at a pace that you can do it cleanly, then speed it up until you mess up then slow it back down, and then start playing them backwards.

It is also a good idea to keep you fingers on the strings to help with stretching your span.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

There are quite a number of things to do with the right hand to help you along.

Get a metronome, practicing locking into a beat.
Practice pick patterns (alternate, duud, udud, etc.)
Practice playing on the off-beats, eigth notes, etc.
practice muting the string after you play it.
practice doing pinch harmonics.