Clear all

segue into lead technique?

11 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@piratelove38)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm really interested in learning lead technique. I'm a relative beginner, so I wanted to know, how can I sort of segue into learning lead, and all the necessary techniques (hammer ons, pull offs, etc.) in a structured and efficient way, so I can get the most out of every practice session?

-Alma

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Here's the order I'd tackle them in, Alma:

1. Arm yourself with some backing tracks. Keep the first ones real simple, I-IV-V progressions.
2. Learn one minor pentatonic pattern - I'd start with the one that puts the root on the 6th string under the 1st finger.
3. Work within that pattern, and develop hammer-on and pull-off skills. Also start working with bends... but you'll get into bends more after adding a couple more positions; not all notes bend well in a key
4. Add the patterns on either side (fourth finger root, and second finger b3)
5. Add slides to move from position to position
6. Add the other two positions
7. Start working on your vibrato
8. Go back to the beginning, and work with the same fingering patterns as the major pentatonic scale - you're just changing a tonal center.
9. Next you want to explore either the blues scale (pentatonic with a b5 added) or diatonic scales. Depending on your style of music, the first diatonic scale I teach is either the major scale or the Dorian mode - which is the minor pentatonic with two notes added to it.
10. Depending on your musical tastes, there will be other techniques to incorporate - economy picking, sweeping, tapping, harmonics, etc. Start talking to players you admire and get advice.

Three's going to be other stuff too... how to structure a solo, how to create "riffs", how to get a good rhythmic hook going, etc. Take a few lessons if you can; if you can't, spend a lot of time listening and trying to re-create what you hear. You'll get better and better at it over time.