Notifications
Clear all

should my arm hurt after playing?

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@daveallyn)
Topic starter  

I just started playing. picked around a bit a couple of weeks ago, and today decided to start actually trying to learn something. Started with horse with no name, part one. after about 10 minutes, my left arm started the ache, and then a few minutes later, It was burning. I stopped playing. If you draw a line from your thumbnail, up your arm to the inside of your elbow, it was hurting about halfway between the thumb and the elbow. as it got worse, it started moving across the top of my are towards where the pinky would go towards the elbow.

Is this a "never used those muscles" type of thing? Or is this something that is seriously wrong?.

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Yours is a good account, clearly expressed, and I like the way you ask your question separately on the last line.

It makes me think of the daily plethora of questions and answers that I see on Yahoo answers under "Health" or "Diseases and Conditions".

And WOW, this is the guitar forum, but it is a medical issue. :wink: I'm not a doctor, and there is at least one here, and a professor, and other pros.

I studied Anatomy/Physiology/Biology and Psychology, but got my Degrees in Psychology/English (though I can't communicate) and later in Business/Management. I did some Teaching without the customary credentials, and had to do counseling and physiotherapy/rehabilitation in "Special Schools".

Ummm...... I think you have strained your arm. I believe it is a normal muscle issue. That doesn't usually happen, but I have held my arm the way you would, and as you've described, and see the potential for strain of muscles. It is not pulled tendons, tendonitis, or ligament type damage, so it is nothing serious. Perhaps it is in the way you hold the neck of the guitar - you might have a unique and stressful style? So, look at others. :D