Skip to content
Some Advice for All...

Notifications
Clear all

Some Advice for All Newbies Out There....

14 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@electrickoolaid)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi just wanted to add my 2 pence worth to the wealth of info already on this site.

Ive been playing for 2 years now and still consider myself a newbie. Ive certainly come a long way since i first started learning those G A and D chords! Got the pentatonic and major scales down in all positions and know where all the root notes are (essential for soloing). Just starting to grasp the modes now and barre's are coming along nicely. Im starting to play stuff that really (well to me anyway) sounds ok to the ear (blues/folk/general acoustic), although i couldnt tell you exactly what chords they are.

I am self taught using various material online and recently just started to work out songs by ear. One important but ESSENTIAL thing that i neglected and i just wanted to get on here to advise other of this, is that i have never really used a metronome. Very occasionaly i have used it in scale playing but got bored with it quickly or got sidetracked.

Now, trying to play with songs or other people, i have noticed my timing is definately out. So i thought, i've got to crack this as the ryhthm is the juice of the music so ive made a concerted effort to use a metronome and have confirmed that (or so it seems at the moment) that my rhyth is crap!! Its all very well being able to know what you want to play and to be able to find the right notes but if you cant do it in time....it means nothing.

One thing i would have done differently when first learning would have definately been to use a metronome at all times until that ryhthm is internalised. I certainly wouldnt be in this position now!