Some questions to the more experienced guitar players

39 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@isabelle)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi there

I've been finding through personal experience it's often easy for a beginner to get lost and confused over what they should start practising, and when. When you try teaching yourself, there are lots of books, DVDs, websites out there to help. Perhaps too many of them, in fact. You find yourself practicing the same songs over and over again, trying to get better at them, scared of taking the next step and avoiding the F chord like the plague. And then you find yourself a bit stuck and somehow limited in what you can do, and you start wondering 'am I doing the right thing here?':

So here goes. To the more experienced players out there:-

How did you start, what was your first guitar, the first songs that you learned?
Do/did you have a teacher or is it all self-taught?
Do you play in a band or do you play for yourself?
What would you say is the most important thing to master before moving on to more complicated things?

Thanks.

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Hello Isabelle! And welcome to GuitarNoise!

1 & 2. My father was a guitarist so there were always guitars and music going on in my house growing up. My dad took me to Montogmery Wards back in 1969 and bought me a little 3/4 sized steel string no-name acoustic. He was my first teacher and I pretty much learned the songs that he wanted to teach me! (He had no interest in that "new fangled rock and roll" stuff, so I learned a lot of country, country swing and even some polka music!) That went on until I felt secure enough in my playing to start playing what I liked. The first song I taught myself was "House of the Rising Sun". I played (rock and roll!) steadily for 10-12 years and then stopped playing for around 20 years (long story!). I decided to pick it back up about 5 years ago. Since then I've been learning (and re-learning) on my own without a teacher.