Clear all

Some song advice

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@jimatwell)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar (electric) for almost two years and am reaching the point (probably long overdue) where I'd like to take the big step of playing with other people. I generally play blues and classic rock (rhythm and some licks/lead) and was hoping to get some advice as to what songs I should learn so that when I get together with other players I don't end up standing there with a dumb look on my face from not knowing any of the "right" songs. So....

Could the wise contributors to the forum make some suggestions of songs that tend to be popular at your jam sessions?

Thanks a lot!

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Hi Jim,

I would just say to learn songs that you personally like. You didn't say how old you are, but generally I think most people gravitate toward playing with others of similar age and music experience when forming a group. The group I am in now we are all between 52-54 years old. We didn't plan it that way, that is what usually happens. I mean, if you are offered the chance to play with a group where the members are 20 years younger (or older) than you, and then you are offered a chance to play with people of similar age, where would you go? So usually you will know the same songs as the rest of the group. So, just play the songs you've always liked whether it be Blues, Classic Rock, or even something more modern.

Start a nice notebook with the lyrics and chords to all your songs. If you join a group, make copies for each member. Now everybody will be able to play right away. There is nothing worse than everybody staring at each other wondering what songs to play. And the person who does the most homework and comes prepared with music like this kind of runs the show. In my group that is me. I am always typing out songsheets and e-mailing it to the other guys. They never do it. So when it comes to songs, I am kinda in charge. :D